Scroll to content

Interactive Bar


Long Ditton Infant And Nursery School

Long Ditton Infant And Nursery School

The Heart of Long Ditton since 1911

The Early Years Foundation Stage

Children in Nursery follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum or EYFS. This Curriculum has been specially designed to meet the needs of young children as they grow, learn and develop.


There are seven areas of learning:

The Prime Areas (these are particularly important for your child's development and future learning)

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Communication and Language (CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)

The Specific Areas (the prime areas are strengthened and applied through these areas)

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The EYFS curriculum identifies the essential role of play in your child’s development. It is through both child-led play and play guided by an adult that your child will develop confidence and relationships with others. Through play, EYFS practitioners will help your child to extend their vocabulary and develop their communication skills.


The EYFS framework identifies three characteristics of effective teaching and learning:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically


We plan and teach using the EYFS curriculum. We learn about your child, what they can do and what they like, and then use the knowledge of the EYFS to move them forward. We regularly assess children during their time with us, and review their progress to ensure that our planned activities are meeting their needs. 


More information about the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum can be found here: The EYFS